Frieza returns in Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection F (because Son Goku needed a shiny, new punching bag)

I was very excited after I saw the trailer of Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection F on youtube a few months ago.

As a self-proclaimed DB fan, I am ashamed to say that I totally did not know this movie existed before seeing the trailer on yt. But I got excited the moment I saw it and hoped to find a good copy of the movie to watch.

For the mean time, I opted to watch parody videos of the movie in yt. Those videos are funny as hell. Kudos to the wonderful people who made those parody videos! Though I can’t remember who the creators were, I still had a good laugh… well, several good laughs. (And somebody made me expect that Frieza had g(old) spots but then I realized during the movie that it was Cell who had those. :face palm: You know who you are! ).

So, while watching DBZ: Resurrection F, there were a few things that came to mind. I will try my best not to bore you so you can read at your own risk.

  • Goku and Vegeta will forever train until they reach the max levels of power. There is no question to this. And it seemed to me that the whole movie was just an hour and thirty-minute long episode of Goku’s (and Vegeta’s) training to get even stronger-er-est.
Goku and Vegeta training (again?)
Goku and Vegeta training (again?)
  • Frieza’s hell is cute as hell. Those who watched the movie will see that Frieza’s hell is filled with flowers, fairies, and toys and all the things that little boys and girls would love. He really has a special place in hell. Although the place is a paradise to kids. But if you are a sane person, you would probably turn neurotic and vengeful like Frieza if you get trapped inside a cocoon while hanging on a tree as you are surrounded by flowers, playful music, fairies and moving toys that are having a parade all day long. If you imagine seeing and listening to that for a long, long, long time, then not even me would be spared. I’m pretty sure Frieza’s hell is a perfect formula for turning people crazy. (And I like cute things.) No wonder Frieza turned gold due to too much cuteness. Frieza and cute is just so wrong in so many levels.
Welcome to the bright, underwater hell exclusively for Frieza.
Welcome to the bright, underwater hell exclusively for Frieza.
Frieza-chan, are you having a good time?
Frieza-chan, are you having a good time?
  • Strong (and hot) men wear their hair light blue (or is that color aquamarine?). I have always had a crush on Goku since I was young. I confess to crying when he died the first time. (Only to realize that he could resurrect! You pulled a fast one on me, plot armor!) And I really dig the new hair color when they transform in their new Super Saiyan form. It reminds me of TOP from the Kpop group BIGBANG. He had similar hair color once and it was hot as hell! I want to say that I am not crushing on Vegeta. It’s one of my best friends who is. (That’s why we are the best of friends.)
How do you like my blue hair?
Goku: How do you like my blue hair?
I look better with blue hair than you, Kakarot.
Vegeta: I look better with blue hair than you, Kakarot.
top blue hair
TOP: Did someone say blue hair?
  • Frieza makes an annoying punching bag. I can’t really consider Frieza as a ‘sparring partner’ for Goku (and Vegeta) because he got the crap beaten out of him even though he ‘trained’ and got a shiny, new form. I was watching Goku and Frieza’s fight scene and I was like this is what Goku should tell Frieza: “Thanks for coming back from hell Frieza. We were running out of punching bags so we’re super glad that you polished yourself a bit. Don’t worry, we’ll wipe out that shine when we wipe the floor with your face. Just don’t make it too boring, okay? We at least want to break a little sweat.” Frieza mouths a lot. Well, I guess that’s all he can do given the fact that he ‘made an effort’ and ‘trained’ to get a golden finish but he still got his ass handed back to him. And he still returned to his cutesy hell. And the fairies and toys were like “Welcome back, Frieza-chan! Now, let’s start your eternal torture with us singing a happy song as we walk around the tree that you’re hanging from.”
Goku: Eat this, Frieza!
Goku: Eat this, Frieza!
  • Gohan turned lame-ish. He could still transform to the first Super Saiyan form but he’s just not strong enough. Or I guess compared to his father, there really is a great difference. I think he would even be more powerful if he continued training though. But since dear ol’ dad can do the job of protecting Earth, Gohan had been busying himself with being a husband and a dad. He is totally digging the domestic life (and wasn’t that what Chichi wanted for Gohan?).
Gohan living the domestic life.
Gohan living the domestic life.
  • Piccolo is forever a baby sitter. I remember the part when Piccolo ‘watched over’ Gohan when he was little. Fast forward into the future and we see Piccolo rocking the cradle of Gohan’s baby with his feet. He deserves an award for playing the sitter. I think he’s really a cuddly green Namek deep inside his scary green exterior.
Piccolo: Baby sitting like a boss.
Piccolo: Baby sitting like a boss.
  • Krillin goes bald while Tien Shin Han and Master Roshi are as bald as ever. Krillin went old school and had his android wifey shave his head. It was nostalgic to see that shiny head. And Tien Shin Han is still as bald as ever. And let’s not forget Master Roshi. Piccolo is hairless (and green) so he does not count. And Frieza, well, nobody expects to find hair on Frieza’s body. You can’t even tell if he’s a boy or a girl. (Ugh, I should stop this line of thinking now. This way leads to danger.) You can’t expect every person in the entire universe to be hairy gorillas or something. Oh, and Krillin’s VA is Luffy’s VA. Now that is interesting.
The Earth's Z Warriors.
The Earth’s Z Warriors.
  • Good ol’ Senso bean. It’s the item that no one should ever forget when going to a fight. And the senso bean has a constant presence during the fights in DBZ. My only concern is “WHY THE HELL DID THEY ONLY BRING A FEW BEANS?” when they knew that Frieza was coming. Were you guys underestimating Frieza? Was the talking cat too stingy and only gave you a few beans? Did Jack rob your beans to plant and grow a beanstalk? You guys should have brought a SACK full of senso beans. Oh, but it’s for the sake of the plot in the movie. So I will shut my mouth now.
  • Thousands of aliens can fit in a small spaceship. Apparently, my eyes were deceiving me. Frieza’s spaceship was small compared to the number of cannon fodder that went out from it. It was mind-boggling how they just jumped out of the small spaceship like ants or flies (since they could fly). It could have been that I had bad depth perception. But then again, I realized that I was watching an anime, and in the anime world, there are certain things that you just can’t question.
Cannon fodder alert!
Cannon fodder alert!
  • No matter how strong Goku gets, he will always be a martial arts baka. Once an idiot, always an idiot. He wants to make friends with his enemies because he wants to fight with them again and again. That’s how he and Vegeta became ‘buddies’. He has flowers in his head and he expects everyone to get along through the spirit of fighting. But that’s what makes him great. And having a one-track mind has its own advantages. At least it works for him. And we won’t have that not-so-plot-twist at the end if he was not a baka.
  • The overall plot makes me face palm. Sorry, but no matter how much I love DBZ, the plot armor of the Doing Over power just kills me. The three-second rewind ability is such a cheat. (I want it!)
  • It was not enough. You bet it wasn’t. I wanted more BDZ! I wanted to see more adventures of Goku and friends. But I know that it is not the end. DBZ will continue forever!

There are still a lot of things I can say about this movie. There is just not enough time.

I hope I did not spoil anyone with my blabbering about DBZ: Ressurection F. I did enjoy the movie and I hope. that you get to enjoy it, too.

.

.

.

.

Well, if you want to be spoiled, here are the screen shots I was able to get from the movie. Please forgive my lame attempt at captioning them. 😛

I want money!
I want money!
Frieza's resting mean face.
Frieza: This is me death glarin’.
Krillin: What do you mean I'm going to lose all of my hair after this call?
Krillin: What do you mean I’m going to lose all of my hair after this call? Are you prank calling me?
Bulma: Welcome back, Frieza! Please wait a few more minutes for my hubby to arrive so that he can beat the crap out of you!
Bulma: Welcome back, Frieza! Please wait a few more minutes for my hubby to arrive so that he can beat the crap out of you!
(I thought of a caption for this while taking this screen shot. But now, I just don't know anymore. waaaah.)
Tien Shin Han: Grit your teeth!
Goku: Is that Bulma I hear?
Goku: Vegeta, is that Bulma I hear?
Bulma: Vegeta, stop monkeying around and get your ass home with Goku right now!
Bulma: Vegeta, stop monkeying around and get your ass home with Goku right now!
Vegeta: This is so embarrassing!
Vegeta: This is so embarrassing!     Goku: Thank god it’s not Chichi.
Wut?!
Wut?!
Goku: Come on, Vegeta. Don't be shy. Just hold my hand. I know you want to.
Goku: Come on, Vegeta. Don’t be shy. Just hold my hand. I know you want to.
Frieza: Evil smirk.
Frieza: Evil smirk.
Frieza: Be amazed by my violet sfx!
Frieza: Be amazed by my violet background lighting!
Let the staring match begin!
Let the staring match begin!
Frieza: Stare...
Frieza: Stare… (Frieza’s constipated look. lol)
Goku: Frieza keeps giving me constipated looks.
Goku: Stare…
Goku: I look good!
Goku: Frieza, feast your eyes with my new blue hair transformation!
Frieza: Hmp! I don't care about your blue hair. Look at my skin, it's gold!
Frieza: Hmp! I don’t care about your blue hair. Look at my skin. It’s gold!
Free fireworks show!
Free fireworks show!
Beerus: Dibs on the top strawberry!
Whis: Dibs on the top strawberry!   Beerus: No shit! The strawberry is MINE!
Frieza: Eat my violet fist!
Frieza: Eat my violet fist!
Frieza: You're so funny I might just fart while laughing.
Frieza: You’re so funny I might just fart while laughing.
Frieza's farting face.
Frieza’s face while suppressing a fart.
Goku: Race you to the finish line! Loser gets their ass kicked!
Goku: Race you to the finish line! Loser gets their ass kicked!
Frieza: Goku, I will kill you with this finger!
Frieza: Goku, I will kill you with this finger!
Goku: Vegeta, you better watch out for that finger!
Goku: Finger…? Vegeta, I’m tapping out! It’s your turn now!
Vegeta: Bitch please! That finger ain't scarin' me.
Vegeta: Bitch please! That finger ain’t scarin’ me.
Vegeta: Eat this, Frieza!
Vegeta: Eat this, Frieza!
Vegeta, Say ahh...
Vegeta, Say ahh…
Fireworks display!
Fireworks display!
Goku: Whew! Glad I dodged that finger!
Goku: Whew! Glad I dodged that finger!
Vegeta: Kakarot, you idiot! Why did you tap out like a scared monkey? Are you scared of Frieza's little finger?
Vegeta: Kakarot, you idiot! Why did you tap out like a scared monkey? Are you scared of Frieza’s little finger?
Vegeta: You should be scared on this!
Vegeta: You should be scared of this!
Vegeta: How'd you like that, Kakarot?
Vegeta: How’d you like that, Kakarot?
All in a day's work.
All in a day’s work.

Here’s the wikipedia entry for the movie. Click this!

Support Me on Ko-fi

Leave a comment